Pinckley Prizes for Crime FictionPinckley Prizes for Crime Fiction

Greater New Orleans Foundation

Tennessee Williams New Orleans Literary Festival

Women’s National Book Association


Pinckley Prizes For Crime Fiction

The Women’s National Book Association of New Orleans established the Pinckley Prizes for Crime Fiction to honor the memory of Diana Pinckley (1952-2012), a longtime Times-Picayune columnist, and her passion for mysteries. The Prizes will be administered by WNBA-NOLA, the New Orleans chapter of the Women’s National Book Association. The national group was founded in 1917. The local chapter was founded in 2011, and Diana Pinckley was a founding member.

Laura Lippman and Gwen Florio are the recipients of the inaugural Pinckley Prizes for Crime Fiction, named to honor the memory of Diana Pinckley, longtime crime fiction columnist for The New Orleans Times-Picayune. The prizes will be presented March 22, 2014, at the 28th annual Tennessee Williams/New Orleans Literary Festival. The presentation will take place at the historic Beauregard-Keyes House at 5 p.m. The Prizes are presented by the Women’s National Book Association of New Orleans, of which Diana Pinckley was a founding member.

The prizes will be presented for the first time at the 2014 Tennessee Williams/New Orleans Literary Festival and will honor two women. The Pinckley Prize for Achievement in Crime Fiction will honor an established writer who has created a significant body of work; the winner will be nominated and selected by a jury of writers and critics. Winners will receive both a financial award and a trip to the Tennessee Williams Festival. The Pinckley Prize for Debut Novel will honor a first-time novelist in adult crime fiction; entry forms must accompany all books.

Pinckley Prize Committee

Susan Larson, President, WNBA-NOLA
Florence Andre, Development Advisor
Kathy Cain, Development Communications Advisor
Brian McCormick, Website Developer
Mary Sullivan, Graphic Designer
Constance Adler
Antoinette de Alteriis
Celeste Berteau
Veronica Brooks-Sigler
Moira Crone
Serena Jones
Karen Kersting
Mary McCay
Kathleen Calhoun Nettleton
Melinda Palacio
Linda Prout
Christine Wiltz

Please specify Pinckley Prizes Fund Give Now